Portuguese Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Portuguese Presidents and Prime Ministers. Portugal became a constitutional monarchy in 1834, at which time the Prime Minister (called in Portuguese Presidente do Conselho de Ministros until 1976, and Primeiro-ministro thereafter) was the head of government. After a revolution in 1910 Portugal became a republic and the office of President was created to be the official head of state.
     more options...
    dash specifies range
    * and _ are wildcards
    * and _ are wildcards
Pedro de Sousa Holstein1834-1835; 1842; 1846prime minister
Aníbal Cavaco Silva1985-1995; 2006-prime minister; president
Jorge Sampaio1996-2006president
Pedro Passos Coelho2011-2015prime minister
António Costa2015-prime minister