Austrian Dukes and Emperors

The land of Austria, within the Holy Roman Empire, was elevated from a march to a duchy in 1156. Thus, the margrave Henry II was elevated to a duke. In 1278 the Habsburg family became the hereditary dukes. They eventually came to style themselves as archdukes. Austria became the center of power in the empire, and the archduke was often also the emperor.

In 1804 Francis I, who was the Archduke of Austria and the Holy Roman Emperor, formed the Austrian Empire. Two years later he dissolved the Holy Roman Empire. In 1867 the crowns of Austria and Hungary, both possessed by the same person, were merged into the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy. Following defeat in the First World War, Austria became a republic.

     More Options
Heinrich II Jasomirgott1156-1177
Leopold V1177-1194
Friedrich I1195-1198
Leopold VI the Glorious1198-1230
Friedrich II the Quarrelsome1230-1246
Ottokar II1251-1276
Rudolf I1278-1282
Rudolf II1282-1283
Albrecht I1282-1308
Rudolf III1298-1307
Leopold I1308-1326
Friedrich I the Fair1308-1330
Otto the Merry1330-1339
Albrecht II1330-1358
Friedrich II1339-1344
Leopold II1339-1344
Rudolf IV the Founder1358-1365
Leopold III the Just1365-1379
Albrecht III1365-1395
Albrecht IV1395-1404
Albrecht V the Magnanimous1404-1439
Ladislaus Posthumus1440-1457
Albrecht VI1457-1463
Friedrich III the Peaceful1457-1493
Maximilian I1493-1519
Karl I1519-1521
Ferdinand I1521-1564
Maximilian II1564-1576
Rudolf II1576-1608
Ferdinand II1590-1637
Albrecht VII1619
Ferdinand III1637-1657
Leopold IV1657-1705
Joseph I1705-1711
Karl II1711-1740
Maria Theresia1740-1780
Joseph II1765-1790
Leopold V1790-1792
Franz I1792-1835
Ferdinand I1835-1848
Franz Joseph I1848-1916
Karl I1916-1918