British Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of British Prime Ministers. The Prime Minister is appointed by the British monarch, the nominal head of state, and governs in the monarch's name. In modern times the Prime Minister is regarded as the real leader of the country.

The position evolved slowly and was never created by any law. Robert Walpole (1676-1745) is generally viewed as the first Prime Minister after he became the First Lord of the Treasury in 1721.

     More Options
NameYearsOther Names
Henry Addington1801-1804
Herbert Henry Asquith1908-1916
Clement Attlee1945-1951
Stanley Baldwin1923-1924; 1924-1929; 1935-1937
Arthur Balfour1902-1905
Tony Blair1997-2007
Gordon Brown2007-2010
James Callaghan1976-1979
David Cameron2010-2016
Henry Campbell-Bannerman1905-1908
George Canning1827
William Cavendish1756-1757
William Cavendish-Bentinck1783; 1807-1809
Neville Chamberlain1937-1940
Winston Churchill1940-1945; 1951-1955
Spencer Compton1742-1743
Benjamin Disraeli1868; 1874-1880
Alec Douglas-Home1963-1964
Anthony Eden1955-1957
Augustus FitzRoy1768-1770
Robert Gascoyne-Cecil1885-1886; 1886-1892; 1895-1902
William Ewart Gladstone1868-1874; 1880-1885; 1886; 1892-1894
George Grenville1763-1765
William Grenville1806-1807
Charles Grey1830-1834
George Hamilton-Gordon1852-1855
Edward Heath1970-1974
Robert Jenkinson1812-1827
John Russell1846-1852; 1865-1866
Boris Johnson2019-
William Lamb1834; 1835-1841
Bonar Law1922-1923
David Lloyd George1916-1922
Ramsay MacDonald1924; 1929-1935
Harold Macmillan1957-1963
John Major1990-1997
Theresa May2016-2019(Brasier)
Frederick North1770-1782
Robert Peel1834-1835; 1841-1846
Henry Pelham1743-1754
Thomas Pelham-Holles1754-1756; 1757-1762
Spencer Perceval1809-1812
William Petty1782-1783
William Pitt the Elder1766-1768
William Pitt the Younger1783-1801; 1804-1806
Archibald Primrose1894-1895
F. J. Robinson1827-1828
Edward Smith-Stanley1852; 1858-1859; 1866-1868
John Stuart1762-1763
Henry John Temple1855-1858; 1859-1865
Margaret Thatcher1979-1990
Robert Walpole1721-1742
Charles Watson-Wentworth1765-1766; 1782
Arthur Wellesley1828-1830; 1834
Harold Wilson1964-1970; 1974-1976