Icelandic Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Presidents and Prime Ministers of Iceland. The President (Icelandic Forseti) is the head of state, a largely ceremonial role, while the Prime Minister (Forsætisráðherra) is the head of government. The office of President was established in 1944, when Iceland became fully independent from Denmark. The office of Prime Minister was established before independence.
     More Options
Ásgeir Ásgeirsson1932-1934; 1952-1968prime minister; president
Bjarni Benediktsson1963-1970prime minister
Bjarni Benediktsson2017prime minister
Björn Jónsson1909-1911prime minister
Björn Þórðarson1942-1944prime minister
Davíð Oddsson1991-2004prime minister
Sigurður Eggerz1914-1915; 1922-1924prime minister
Einar Arnórsson1915-1917prime minister
Kristján Eldjárn1968-1980president
Emil Jónsson1958-1959prime minister
Geir Hallgrímsson1974-1978prime minister
Benedikt Gröndal1979-1980prime minister
Guðni T. Jóhannesson2016-president
Geir Haarde2006-2009prime minister
Hannes Hafstein1904-1909; 1912-1914prime minister
Jóhann Hafstein1970-1971prime minister
Halldór Ásgrímsson2004-2006prime minister
Hermann Jónasson1934-1942; 1956-1958prime minister
Jóhanna Sigurðardóttir2009-2013prime minister
Jón Magnússon1917-1922; 1924-1926prime minister
Jón Þorláksson1926-1927prime minister
Katrín Jakobsdóttir2017-prime minister
Kristján Jónsson1911-1912prime minister
Magnús Guðmundsson1926prime minister
Ólafur Jóhannesson1971-1974; 1978-1979prime minister
Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson1996-2016president
Ólafur Thors1942; 1944-1947; 1949-1950; 1953-1956; 1959-1963prime minister
Sigmundur Davíð Gunnlaugsson2013-2016prime minister
Sigurður Ingi Jóhannsson2016-2017prime minister
Stefán Jóhann Stefánsson1947-1949prime minister
Steingrímur Hermannsson1983-1987; 1988-1991prime minister
Steingrímur Steinþórsson1950-1953prime minister
Sveinn Björnsson1944-1952president
Gunnar Thoroddsen1980-1983prime minister
Þorsteinn Pálsson1987-1988prime minister
Tryggvi Þórhallsson1927-1932prime minister
Vigdís Finnbogadóttir1980-1996president