Portuguese Kings and Queens

In 1139 Afonso Henriques was proclaimed king of an independent Portugal, which had until that time been a county within the Kingdom of León. Over the next century Afonso and his successors expanded the borders of the kingdom southward at the expense of the Moors in southern Iberia. By 1249 Portugal had attained its present extent. Portugal reached the zenith of its power in the 16th century.

In 1580 the Portuguese crown went to King Filipe of Spain (known as Felipe II to the Spanish). Portugal was ruled by Spanish Habsburgs until 1640, when a rebellion removed this line of kings from power and installed the House of Braganza.

The Braganza dynasty held power until 1910, when the monarchy was abolished and a republic established.

     more options...
    dash specifies range
    * and _ are wildcards
    * and _ are wildcards
Afonso I the Conqueror1139-1185
Afonso II the Fat1212-1223
Afonso III1248-1279
Afonso IV the Brave1325-1357
Afonso V the African1438-1477; 1477-1481
Afonso VI the Victorious1656-1683
Duarte the Philosopher1433-1438
Fernando I the Handsome1367-1383
Filipe I the Prudent1580-1598
Filipe II the Pious1598-1621
Filipe III1621-1640
Henrique I the Chaste1578-1580
João I the Good1385-1433
João II1477; 1481-1495
João III the Pious1521-1557
João IV the Restorer1640-1656
João V the Magnanimous1706-1750
João VI1816-1826
José I the Reformer1750-1777
Manuel I the Fortunate1495-1521
Manuel II1908-1910
Maria I1777-1816
Maria II1826-1828; 1834-1853
Pedro I the Just1357-1367
Pedro II the Pacific1683-1706
Pedro IV1826
Pedro V1853-1861
Sancho I the Populator1185-1212
Sancho II the Pius1223-1247