Turkish Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Presidents and Prime Ministers of Turkey. The President (Turkish Cumhurbaşkanı) is the ceremonial head of state, while the Prime Minister (Başbakan) is the head of government. The modern republic of Turkey came into being in 1923 following the dissolution of the Ottoman Empire at the end of World War I.
     More Options
NameYearsTypeOther Names
Mustafa Kemal Atatürk1920-1921; 1923-1938prime minister; president
Rauf Orbay1922-1923prime minister
Fethi Okyar1923; 1924-1925prime minister
İsmet İnönü1923-1924; 1925-1937; 1938-1950; 1961-1965president; prime minister
Celâl Bayar1937-1939; 1950-1960prime minister; president
Refik Saydam1939-1942prime minister
Şükrü Saracoğlu1942-1946prime minister
Recep Peker1946-1947prime minister
Hasan Saka1947-1949prime minister
Şemsettin Günaltay1949-1950prime minister
Adnan Menderes1950-1960prime minister
Cemal Gürsel1960-1961; 1960-1966prime minister; president
Emin Fahrettin Özdilek1961prime minister
Suat Hayri Ürgüplü1965prime minister
Süleyman Demirel1965-1971; 1975-1977; 1977-1978; 1979-1980; 1991-1993; 1993-2000prime minister; president(Gündoğdu)
Cevdet Sunay1966-1973president
Nihat Erim1971-1972prime minister
Ferit Melen1972-1973prime minister
Naim Talu1973-1974prime minister
Bülent Ecevit1974; 1977; 1978-1979; 1999-2002prime minister
Sadi Irmak1974-1975prime minister
Fahri Korutürk1976-1980president
Kenan Evren1980-1989president
Bülend Ulusu1980-1983prime minister
Turgut Özal1983-1989; 1989-1993prime minister; president
Yıldırım Akbulut1989-1991prime minister
Mesut Yılmaz1991; 1996; 1997-1999prime minister
Tansu Çiller1993-1996prime minister
Necmettin Erbakan1996-1997prime minister
Ahmet Necdet Sezer2000-2007president
Abdullah Gül2002-2003; 2007-2014prime minister; president
Recep Tayyip Erdoğan2003-2014; 2014-prime minister; president
Ahmet Davutoğlu2014-2016prime minister
Binali Yıldırım2016-2018prime minister