Egyptian Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of the Presidents and Prime Ministers of Egypt. The office of Prime Minister, the head of government, was established in 1878 while Egypt was still technically a province of the Ottoman Empire. Coming under British control, Egypt gained independence in 1920 as a kingdom. In 1952 the kingdom was overthrown and Egypt became a republic with a President as the head of state.
NameYearsTypeOther Names
Gamal Abdel Nasser1956-1970president
Anwar Sadat1970-1981president
Hosni Mubarak1981-1982; 1981-2011prime minister; president
Mohamed Morsi2012-2013president(Al-Ayyat)
Adly Mansour2013-2014president
Abdel Fattah el-Sisi2014-president