French Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of French Presidents and Prime Ministers. The French Republic was first formed in 1792 after the French Revolution, though the office of President did not exist until the creation of the Second Republic in 1848. The Third (1870-1940), Fourth (1947-1959) and Fifth (1959-present) Republics have also been led by presidents.

The modern office of Prime Minister was created in 1815 (in French the title was Président du Conseil des Ministres until 1959, when it became Premier ministre). Unlike some other European democracies with both a president and a prime minister, the French Prime Minister has less actual power compared to the President.

NameYearsTypeOther Names
François Arago1848prime minister
Gabriel Attal2024-prime minister
Vincent Auriol1947-1954president
Jean-Marc Ayrault2012-2014prime minister
Édouard Balladur1993-1995prime minister
Raymond Barre1976-1981prime minister
Odilon Barrot1848-1849prime minister
Louis Barthou1913prime minister
Pierre Bérégovoy1992-1993prime minister
Georges Bidault1949-1950prime minister
Léon Blum1936-1937; 1938; 1946-1947prime minister
Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte1848-1852president
Élisabeth Borne2022-2024prime minister
Fernand Bouisson1935prime minister
Léon Bourgeois1895-1896prime minister
Maurice Bourgès-Maunoury1957prime minister
Aristide Briand1909-1911; 1913; 1915-1917; 1921-1922; 1925-1926; 1929prime minister
Henri Brisson1885-1886; 1898prime minister
Louis Buffet1875-1876prime minister
Joseph Caillaux1911-1912prime minister
Marie François Sadi Carnot1887-1894president
Jean Casimir-Perier1893-1894; 1894-1895prime minister; president
Jean Castex2020-2022prime minister
Louis-Eugène Cavaignac1848prime minister
Bernard Cazeneuve2016-2017prime minister
Jacques Chaban-Delmas1969-1972prime minister
Camille Chautemps1930; 1933-1934; 1937-1938prime minister
Jacques Chirac1974-1976; 1986-1988; 1995-2007prime minister; president
Georges Clemenceau1906-1909; 1917-1920prime minister
Émile Combes1902-1905prime minister
René Coty1954-1959president
Ernest Courtot de Cissey1874-1875prime minister
Charles Cousin-Montauban, Comte de Palikao1870prime minister
Maurice Couve de Murville1968-1969prime minister
Édith Cresson1991-1992prime minister
Édouard Daladier1933; 1934; 1938-1940prime minister
Michel Debré1959-1962prime minister
Albert de Broglie1873-1874; 1877prime minister
Victor de Broglie1830; 1835-1836prime minister
Élie, duc Decazes1819-1820prime minister
Charles de Freycinet1879-1880; 1882; 1886; 1890-1892prime minister(de Saulces)
Charles de Gaulle1958-1959; 1959-1969prime minister; president
Gaëtan de Rochebouët1877prime minister(de Grimaudet)
Paul Deschanel1920president
Charles Maurice de Talleyrand-Périgord1815prime minister
Armand-Emmanuel de Vignerot du Plessis1815-1818; 1820-1821prime minister
Dominique de Villepin2005-2007prime minister(Galouzeau)
Alphonse Henri d'Hautpoul1849-1851prime minister
Paul Doumer1931-1932president
Gaston Doumergue1913-1914; 1924-1931; 1934prime minister; president
Charles Duclerc1882-1883prime minister
Jules Armand Dufaure1871-1873; 1876; 1877-1879prime minister
Jacques-Charles Dupont de l'Eure1848prime minister
Charles Dupuy1893; 1894-1895; 1898-1899prime minister
Laurent Fabius1984-1986prime minister
Armand Fallières1883; 1906-1913prime minister; president
Léon Faucher1851prime minister
Edgar Faure1952; 1955-1956prime minister
Félix Faure1895-1899president
Jules Ferry1880-1881; 1883-1885prime minister
François Fillon2007-2012prime minister
Pierre-Étienne Flandin1934-1935; 1940-1941prime minister
Charles Floquet1888-1889prime minister
Frédéric François-Marsal1924prime minister
Félix Gaillard1957-1958prime minister(d'Aimé)
Léon Gambetta1881-1882prime minister
Étienne Maurice Gérard1834prime minister
Valéry Giscard d'Estaing1974-1981president
René Goblet1886-1887prime minister
Jules Grévy1879-1887president
François Guizot1847-1848prime minister
Édouard Herriot1924-1925; 1926; 1932prime minister
François Hollande2012-2017president
Jean-Joseph, Marquis Dessolles1818-1819prime minister
Lionel Jospin1997-2002prime minister
Alain Juppé1995-1997prime minister
Jacques Laffitte1830-1831prime minister
Joseph Laniel1953-1954prime minister
Pierre Laval1931-1932; 1935-1936; 1940; 1942-1944prime minister
Albert François Lebrun1932-1940president
Georges Leygues1920-1921prime minister
Émile Loubet1892; 1899-1906prime minister; president
Patrice de Mac-Mahon1873-1879president
Emmanuel Macron2017-president
Hugues-Bernard Maret, duc de Bassano1834prime minister
André Marie1948prime minister
Jean Baptiste Gay, vicomte de Martignac1828-1829prime minister
Pierre Mauroy1981-1984prime minister
René Mayer1953prime minister
Jules Méline1896-1898prime minister
Pierre Mendès France1954-1955prime minister
Pierre Messmer1972-1974prime minister
Alexandre Millerand1920; 1920-1924prime minister; president
François Mitterrand1981-1995president
Louis-Mathieu Molé1836-1839; 1848prime minister
Guy Mollet1956-1957prime minister
Ernest Monis1911prime minister
Édouard Mortier, duc de Trévise1834-1835prime minister
Émile Ollivier1869-1870prime minister
Paul Painlevé1917; 1925prime minister
Joseph Paul-Boncour1932-1933prime minister
Casimir Pierre Périer1831-1832prime minister
Philippe Pétain1940prime minister
Pierre Pflimlin1958prime minister
Édouard Philippe2017-2020prime minister
Antoine Pinay1952-1953prime minister
René Pleven1950-1951; 1951-1952prime minister
Alain Poher1969; 1974president
Raymond Poincaré1912-1913; 1913-1920; 1922-1924; 1926-1929president; prime minister
Jules de Polignac1829-1830prime minister
Georges Pompidou1962-1968; 1969-1974prime minister; president
Henri Queuille1948-1949; 1950; 1951prime minister
Jean-Pierre Raffarin2002-2005prime minister
Paul Ramadier1947prime minister
Paul Reynaud1940prime minister
Alexandre Ribot1892-1893; 1895; 1914; 1917prime minister
Michel Rocard1988-1991prime minister
Maurice Rouvier1887; 1905-1906prime minister
Nicolas Sarkozy2007-2012president
Albert Sarraut1933; 1936prime minister
Ferdinand Sarrien1906prime minister
Robert Schuman1947-1948; 1948prime minister
Jules Simon1876-1877prime minister
Jean-de-Dieu Soult1832-1834; 1839-1840; 1840-1847prime minister
Théodore Steeg1930-1931prime minister
André Tardieu1929-1930; 1930; 1932prime minister
Adolphe Thiers1836; 1840; 1871-1873prime minister; president
Pierre Tirard1887-1888; 1889-1890prime minister
Louis-Jules Trochu1870-1871prime minister
Manuel Valls2014-2016prime minister(Galfetti)
Jean-Baptiste de Villèle1821-1828prime minister
René Viviani1914-1915prime minister
William Waddington1879prime minister
Pierre Waldeck-Rousseau1899-1902prime minister