Georgian Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Georgian Presidents and Prime Ministers. The President (Georgian პრეზიდენტი: Prezidenti) is the largely ceremonial head of state, while the Prime Minister (პრემიერ-მინისტრი: Premier-Ministri) is the head of government. The position of Prime Minister was established in 1918 but abolished three years later when Georgia became part of the Soviet Union. In 1991 the position was briefly reestablished, only to to abolished again, then reestablished in 2004. The position of President was created in 1991.
NameYearsTypeOther Names
Noe Ramishvili1918prime minister
Noe Zhordania1918-1921prime minister
Zviad Gamsakhurdia1991-1992president
Murman Omanidze1991prime minister
Besarion Gugushvili1991-1992prime minister
Tengiz Sigua1992-1993prime minister
Eduard Shevardnadze1993; 1995-2003prime minister; president
Otar Patsatsia1993-1995prime minister
Nikoloz Lekishvili1995-1998prime minister
Vazha Lortkipanidze1998-2000prime minister
Giorgi Arsenishvili2000-2001prime minister
Avtandil Jorbenadze2001-2003prime minister
Zurab Zhvania2003-2005prime minister
Nino Burjanadze2003-2004; 2007-2008president
Mikheil Saakashvili2004-2007; 2008-2013president
Zurab Noghaideli2005-2007prime minister
Vladimer Gurgenidze2007-2008prime minister
Grigol Mgaloblishvili2008-2009prime minister
Nikoloz Gilauri2009-2012prime minister
Ivane Merabishvili2012prime minister
Bidzina Ivanishvili2012-2013prime minister
Giorgi Margvelashvili2013-2018president
Irakli Gharibashvili2013-2015; 2021-2024prime minister(Garibashvili)
Giorgi Kvirikashvili2015-2018prime minister
Mamuka Bakhtadze2018-2019prime minister
Salome Zurabishvili2018-president(Zourabichvili)
Giorgi Gakharia2019-2021prime minister
Irakli Kobakhidze2024-prime minister