Indian Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of the Presidents and Prime Ministers of India. The modern country came into being in 1947 when British India was partitioned into independent India and Pakistan. It became a republic in 1950, with a President as the head of state and a Prime Minister as the head of government.
NameYearsTypeOther Names
Jawaharlal Nehru1947-1964prime minister
Lal Bahadur Shastri1964-1966prime minister
Indira Gandhi1966-1977; 1980-1984prime minister
Morarji Desai1977-1979prime minister
Charan Singh1979-1980prime minister
Rajiv Gandhi1984-1989prime minister
Vishwanath Pratap Singh1989-1990prime minister
Chandra Shekhar1990-1991prime minister
P. V. Narasimha Rao1991-1996prime minister(Pamulaparti, Venkata)
H. D. Deve Gowda1996-1997prime minister(Hardanahalli)
Atal Bihari Vajpayee1996; 1998-2004prime minister
Inder Kumar Gujral1997-1998prime minister
A. P. J. Abdul Kalam2002-2007president
Manmohan Singh2004-2014prime minister
Narendra Modi2014-prime minister