Irish Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Irish Presidents and Prime Ministers. The President is the largely ceremonial head of state, while the Prime Minister, also called the Taoiseach meaning "chief" in Irish, is the head of government. The positions were created in 1937 when Ireland became a republic.
NameYearsTypeOther Names
Éamon de Valera1937-1948; 1951-1954; 1957-1959; 1959-1973prime minister; president
Douglas Hyde1938-1945president
Seán T. O'Kelly1945-1959president
John A. Costello1948-1951; 1954-1957prime minister
Seán Lemass1959-1966prime minister
Jack Lynch1966-1973; 1977-1979prime minister
Liam Cosgrave1973-1977prime minister
Erskine H. Childers1973-1974president
Cearbhall Ó Dálaigh1974-1976president
Patrick Hillery1976-1990president
Charles Haughey1979-1981; 1982; 1987-1992prime minister
Garret FitzGerald1981-1982; 1982-1987prime minister
Mary Robinson1990-1997president
Albert Reynolds1992-1994prime minister
John Bruton1994-1997prime minister
Bertie Ahern1997-2008prime minister
Mary McAleese1997-2011president
Brian Cowen2008-2011prime minister
Enda Kenny2011-2017prime minister
Michael D. Higgins2011-president
Leo Varadkar2017-2020; 2022-2024prime minister
Mícheál Martin2020-2022prime minister(Ó Máirtín)
Simon Harris2024-prime minister