Latvian Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Presidents and Prime Ministers of Latvia. The modern country of Latvia came into being in 1918 after World War I. The head of state is the President (Prezidents), while the head of the government is the Prime Minister (Ministru Prezidents). From 1940 to 1990 Latvia was controlled by the Soviets, the Nazis and then the Soviets again.
Kārlis Ulmanis1918-1921; 1925-1926; 1931; 1934-1940; 1936-1940prime minister; president
Jānis Čakste1918-1927president
Zigfrīds Anna Meierovics1921-1923; 1923-1924prime minister
Jānis Pauļuks1923prime minister
Voldemārs Zāmuēls1924prime minister
Hugo Celmiņš1924-1925; 1928-1931prime minister
Arturs Alberings1926prime minister
Marģers Skujenieks1926-1928; 1931-1933prime minister
Gustavs Zemgals1927-1930president
Pēteris Juraševskis1928prime minister
Alberts Kviesis1930-1936president
Ādolfs Bļodnieks1933-1934prime minister
Ivars Godmanis1990-1993; 2007-2009prime minister
Guntis Ulmanis1991-1999president
Valdis Birkavs1993-1994prime minister
Māris Gailis1994-1995prime minister
Andris Šķēle1995-1997; 1999-2000prime minister
Guntars Krasts1997-1998prime minister
Vilis Krištopans1998-1999prime minister
Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga1999-2007president
Andris Bērziņš2000-2002prime minister
Einars Repše2002-2004prime minister
Indulis Emsis2004prime minister
Aigars Kalvītis2004-2007prime minister
Valdis Zatlers2007-2011president
Valdis Dombrovskis2009-2014prime minister
Andris Bērziņš2011-2015president
Laimdota Straujuma2014-2016prime minister
Raimonds Vējonis2015-2019president
Māris Kučinskis2016-2019prime minister
Krišjānis Kariņš2019-2023prime minister
Egils Levits2019-2023president
Edgars Rinkēvičs2023-president
Evika Siliņa2023-prime minister