Lithuanian Presidents and Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Presidents, Prime Ministers and other leaders of Lithuania. The modern country of Lithuania came into being in 1918 after World War I. The head of state is the President (Prezidentas), while the head of the government is the Prime Minister (Ministras Pirmininkas). From 1944 to 1990 Lithuania was part of the Soviet Union and was led by the First Secretary and the Chairman of the Presidium.
Augustinas Voldemaras1918; 1926-1929prime minister
Mykolas Sleževičius1918-1919; 1919; 1926prime minister
Pranas Dovydaitis1919prime minister
Antanas Smetona1919-1920; 1926-1940president
Ernestas Galvanauskas1919-1920; 1922-1924prime minister
Aleksandras Stulginskis1920-1926president
Kazys Grinius1920-1922; 1926prime minister; president
Antanas Tumėnas1924-1925prime minister
Vytautas Petrulis1925prime minister
Leonas Bistras1925-1926prime minister
Jonas Staugaitis1926president
Juozas Tūbelis1929-1938prime minister
Vladas Mironas1938-1939prime minister
Jonas Černius1939prime minister
Antanas Merkys1939-1940; 1940prime minister; president
Antanas Sniečkus1940-1974first secretary
Mečislovas Gedvilas1940-1956prime minister
Justas Paleckis1940-1967chairman
Jonas Žemaitis1949-1954president
Motiejus Šumauskas1956-1967; 1967-1975prime minister; chairman
Juozas Maniušis1967-1981prime minister
Petras Griškevičius1974-1987first secretary
Antanas Barkauskas1975-1985chairman
Ringaudas Songaila1981-1985; 1985-1987; 1987-1988prime minister; chairman; first secretary
Vytautas Sakalauskas1985-1990prime minister
Vytautas Astrauskas1987-1990chairman
Algirdas Brazauskas1988-1989; 1992-1998; 2001-2006first secretary; president; prime minister
Vytautas Landsbergis1990-1992chairman
Kazimira Prunskienė1990-1991prime minister
Albertas Šimėnas1991prime minister
Gediminas Vagnorius1991-1992; 1996-1999prime minister
Aleksandras Abišala1992prime minister
Bronislovas Lubys1992-1993prime minister
Adolfas Šleževičius1993-1996prime minister
Laurynas Stankevičius1996prime minister
Valdas Adamkus1998-2003; 2004-2009president
Irena Degutienė1999prime minister
Rolandas Paksas1999; 2000-2001; 2003-2004prime minister; president
Andrius Kubilius1999-2000; 2008-2012prime minister
Eugenijus Gentvilas2001prime minister
Artūras Paulauskas2004president
Zigmantas Balčytis2006prime minister
Gediminas Kirkilas2006-2008prime minister
Dalia Grybauskaitė2009-2019president
Algirdas Butkevičius2012-2016prime minister
Saulius Skvernelis2016-2020prime minister
Gitanas Nausėda2019-president
Ingrida Šimonytė2020-prime minister