Spanish Kings and Queens

In the 10th century all of Spain was under the control of the Islamic Caliphate of Cordoba, with the exception of the northern Kingdoms of Asturias and Navarre and the Spanish March. Sancho III of Navarre united the greater parts of these realms in the early 11th century, but upon his death his kingdom was split between his sons into Navarre, Aragon, and Castile. Castile soon merged with the Kingdom of León in the northwest of Spain, while Aragon and the county of Catalonia eventually merged in the east. Meanwhile the caliphate in the south had collapsed, and Castile and Aragon expanded their borders south until in 1248 the only Muslim possession in Spain was Granada (which lasted until 1492).

Castile and Aragon were united as Spain in 1479 when the husband and wife team of Fernando III of Aragon and Isabel I of Castile ascended the thrones. After their deaths the crown of Spain went to their grandson Carlos (the Holy Roman Emperor Charles V), a Habsburg, who also possessed extensive territories in Austria. Spain was ruled by the Spanish Habsburgs until 1700, at which time occurred the War of the Spanish Succession and the installment of a French Bourbon king, Felipe VI, as the ruler of Spain.

The monarchy was absent in Spain from 1808 to 1814 (as a result of Napoleon), and from 1931 to 1975.

Sancho III the Great1000-1035Navarre
Ramiro I1035-1063Aragon
Fernando I the Great1035-1065Castile
Sancho Ramirez1063-1094Aragon
Sancho II the Strong1065-1072Castile
Alfonso VI the Valiant1072-1073Castile
Pedro I1094-1104Aragon
Alfonso I the Warrior1104-1134Aragon
Alfonso VII the Emperor1126-1157Castile
Ramiro II the Monk1134-1137Aragon
Sancho III the Desired1157-1158Castile
Fernando II1157-1188Leon
Alfonso VIII the Noble1158-1214Castile
Alfonso II the Chaste1164-1196Aragon
Alfonso IX1188-1230Leon
Pedro II1196-1213Aragon
Jaime I the Conqueror1213-1276Aragon
Enrique I1214-1217Castile
Berenguela the Great1217Castile
Fernando III the Saint1217-1252Castile
Alfonso X the Wise1252-1284Castile
Pedro III the Great1276-1285Aragon
Sancho IV the Brave1284-1295Castile
Alfonso III1285-1291Aragon
Jaime II the Just1291-1327Aragon
Fernando IV the Summoned1295-1312Castile
Alfonso XI the Just1312-1350Castile
Alfonso IV the Good1327-1336Aragon
Pedro IV the Ceremonious1336-1387Aragon
Pedro the Cruel1350-1369Castile
Enrique II the Bastard1369-1379Castile
Juan I1379-1390Castile
Juan I1387-1396Aragon
Enrique III the Infirm1390-1406Castile
Martín the Kind1396-1410Aragon
Juan II1406-1454Castile
Fernando I1412-1416Aragon
Alfonso V the Magnanimous1416-1458Aragon
Enrique IV the Impotent1454-1474Castile
Juan II1458-1479Aragon
Isabel I the Catholic1474-1504Castile
Fernando II the Catholic1479-1516Aragon
Juana the Mad1504-1555
Felipe I the Handsome1506Castile
Carlos I1516-1556
Felipe II the Prudent1556-1598
Felipe III the Pious1598-1621
Felipe IV1621-1665
Carlos II the Bewitched1665-1700
Felipe V of Anjou1700-1724; 1724-1746
Luis I1724
Fernando VI1746-1759
Carlos III1759-1788
Carlos IV1788-1808
José Bonaparte1808-1813
Fernando VII1808; 1814-1833
Isabel II the Glorious1833-1868
Amadeo I of Savoy1870-1873
Alfonso XII1874-1885
Alfonso XIII1885-1931
Juan Carlos I1975-2014
Felipe VI2014-