American First Ladies

The First Lady of the United States is the hostess of the White House. The role is usually, but (contrary to popular belief) not always, filled by the wife of the president; bachelor and widowed presidents have had daughters, sisters, nieces or friends as their first ladies. It is unknown what the protocol will be should a woman become president. (See also Presidents of the United States.)
     More Options
NameYearsOther Names
Martha Washington1789-1797
Abigail Adams1797-1801
Martha Jefferson Randolph1801-1809
Dolley Madison1809-1817
Elizabeth Kortright Monroe1817-1825
Louisa Adams1825-1829
Emily Donelson1829-1834
Sarah Yorke Jackson1834-1837
Angelica Van Buren1838-1841
Anna Harrison1841
Jane Irwin Harrison1841
Letitia Christian Tyler1841-1842
Priscilla Cooper Tyler1842-1844
Julia Gardiner Tyler1844-1845
Sarah Childress Polk1845-1849
Margaret Taylor1849-1850
Abigail Fillmore1850-1853
Jane Pierce1853-1857
Harriet Lane1857-1861
Mary Todd Lincoln1861-1865
Eliza McCardle Johnson1865-1869
Julia Grant1869-1877
Lucy Webb Hayes1877-1881
Lucretia Rudolph Garfield1881
Mary Arthur McElroy1881-1885
Rose Cleveland1885-1886
Frances Folsom Cleveland1886-1889; 1893-1897
Caroline Harrison1889-1892
Mary Harrison McKee1892-1893
Ida Saxton McKinley1897-1901
Edith Roosevelt1901-1909
Helen Herron Taft1909-1913
Ellen Axson Wilson1913-1914
Margaret Woodrow Wilson1914-1915
Edith Wilson1915-1921(Bolling)
Florence Harding1921-1923
Grace Coolidge1923-1929
Lou Henry Hoover1929-1933
Eleanor Roosevelt1933-1945
Elizabeth Truman1945-1953
Mamie Eisenhower1953-1961
Jacqueline Kennedy1961-1963
Claudia "Lady Bird" Johnson1963-1969
Pat Nixon1969-1974
Betty Ford1974-1977
Rosalynn Carter1977-1981
Nancy Reagan1981-1989
Barbara Bush1989-1993
Hillary Rodham Clinton1993-2001
Laura Bush2001-2009
Michelle Obama2009-2017
Melania Trump2017-2021(Knavs)
Jill Biden2021-(Jacobs)