Australian Prime Ministers

This list is comprised of Australian Prime Ministers. The position was first created in 1901, when the British colonies in Australia federated to form the Commonwealth of Australia. Like the British office of the same name, the Australian office is not codified in the Australian constitution or law, but merely by political convention.
Display      more options...
Sir Edmund Barton1901-1903
Stanley Bruce1923-1929
Ben Chifley1945-1949
Joseph Cook1913-1914
John Curtin1941-1945
Alfred Deakin1903-1904; 1905-1908; 1909-1910
Arthur Fadden1941
Andrew Fisher1908-1909; 1910-1913; 1914-1915
Frank Forde1945
Malcolm Fraser1975-1983
Julia Gillard2010-
John Gorton1968-1971
Bob Hawke1983-1991
Harold Holt1966-1967
John Howard1996-2007
Billy Hughes1915-1923
Paul Keating1991-1996
Joseph Lyons1932-1939
John McEwen1967-1968
William McMahon1971-1972
Robert Menzies1939-1941; 1949-1966
Earle Page1939
George Reid1904-1905
Kevin Rudd2007-2010
James Scullin1929-1932
Chris Watson1904
Gough Whitlam1972-1975