Pulitzer Award Winners

The Pulitzer Awards were established by Joseph Pulitzer in 1917 and are currently administered by Columbia University. They honour American achievements in print and online journalism, literature and musical composition. Included in this list are individual winners in any of the award's 23 categories.
NameYearWorkOther Names
James Agee1958A Death in the Family
Conrad Aiken1930Selected Poems
Zoe Akins1935The Old Maid
Margaret Ayer Barnes1931Years of Grace
Saul Bellow1976Humboldt's Gift
Louis Bromfield1927Early Autumn
Geraldine Brooks2006March
Pearl S. Buck1932The Good Earth
Robert Olen Butler1993A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain
Willa Cather1923One of Ours
Michael Chabon2001The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
John Cheever1979The Stories of John Cheever
James Gould Cozzens1949Guard of Honor
Michael Cunningham1999The Hours
Harold L. Davis1936Honey in the Horn
Junot Díaz2008The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
George Dillon1932The Flowering Stone
Allen Drury1960Advise and Consent
Jennifer Egan2011A Visit From the Goon Squad
Louise Erdrich2021The Night Watchman
Jeffrey Eugenides2003Middlesex
William Faulkner1954A Fable
William Faulkner1963The Reivers
Edna Ferber1925So Big
Martin Flavin1944Journey in the Dark
Richard Ford1996Independence Day
Elizabeth Frank1986Louise Bogan: A Portrait
Ellen Glasgow1942In This Our Life
Susan Glaspell1931Alison's House
Shirley Ann Grau1965The Keepers of the House
A. B. Guthrie Jr.1950The Way West
Paul Harding2010Tinkers
Ernest Hemingway1953The Old Man and the Sea
John Hersey1945A Bell for Adano
Oscar Hijuelos1990The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love
Josephine Johnson1935Now in November
Edward P. Jones2004The Known World
MacKinlay Kantor1956Andersonville
William Kennedy1984Ironweed
Barbara Kingsolver2023Demon Copperhead
Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings1939The Yearling
Oliver La Farge1930Laughing Boy
Jhumpa Lahiri2000Interpreter of Maladies
Harper Lee1961To Kill a Mockingbird
Sinclair Lewis1926Arrowsmith
Amy Lowell1926What's O'Clock
Alison Lurie1985Foreign Affairs
Norman Mailer1980The Executioner's Song
Bernard Malamud1967The Fixer
Cormac McCarthy2007The Road
Phyllis McGinley1961Times Three: Selected Verse From Three Decades
Larry McMurtry1986Lonesome Dove
James Alan McPherson1978Elbow Room
James A. Michener1948Tales of the South Pacific
Edna St. Vincent Millay1923The Ballad of the Harp-Weaver(Boyd)
Arthur Miller1949Death of a Salesman
Caroline Miller1934Lamb in His Bosom
Steven Millhauser1997Martin Dressler
Margaret Mitchell1937Gone with the Wind
N. Scott Momaday1969House Made of Dawn
Marianne Moore1951Collected Poems
Toni Morrison1988Beloved(Wofford)
Edwin O'Connor1962The Edge of Sadness
Mary Oliver1984American Primitive
Julia Peterkin1929Scarlet Sister Mary
John Phillips Marquand1938The Late George Apley
Ernest Poole1918His Family
Katherine Anne Porter1966The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter
Richard Powers2019The Overstory
E. Annie Proulx1994The Shipping News
Conrad Richter1951The Town
Marilynne Robinson2005Gilead(Summers)
Theodore Roethke1954The Waking
Philip Roth1998American Pastoral
Richard Russo2002Empire Falls
Carl Sandburg1940Abraham Lincoln: The War Years(Sandberg)
Carl Sandburg1951Complete Poems(Sandberg)
Carl Sandburg1919Cornhuskers(Sandberg)
Anne Sexton1967Live or Die(Harvey)
Michael Shaara1975The Killer Angels
Sam Shepard1979Buried Child
Carol Shields1995The Stone Diaries
Upton Sinclair1943Dragon's Teeth
Jane Smiley1992A Thousand Acres
Jean Stafford1970The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford
Wallace Stegner1972Angle of Repose
John Steinbeck1940The Grapes of Wrath
Wallace Stevens1955Collected Poems
T. S. Stribling1933The Store
Elizabeth Strout2009Olive Kitteridge
William Styron1968The Confessions of Nat Turner
Booth Tarkington1922Alice Adams
Peter Taylor1987A Summons to Memphis
Robert Lewis Taylor1959The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters
Sara Teasdale1918Love Songs(Filsinger)
John Kennedy Toole1981A Confederacy of Dunces
Anne Tyler1989Breathing Lessons
John Updike1991Rabbit at Rest
John Updike1982Rabbit Is Rich
Alice Walker1983The Color Purple
Robert Penn Warren1947All the King's Men
Eudora Welty1973The Optimist's Daughter
Edith Wharton1921The Age of Innocence
Colson Whitehead2020The Nickel Boys
Colson Whitehead2017The Underground Railroad
Margaret Widdemer1919The Old Road to Paradise
Richard Wilbur1989New and Collected Poems
Richard Wilbur1957Things of This World
Thornton Wilder1938Our Town
Thornton Wilder1928The Bridge of San Luis Rey
Thornton Wilder1943The Skin of Our Teeth
Tennessee Williams1948A Streetcar Named Desire
Tennessee Williams1955Cat on A Hot Tin Roof
Margaret Wilson1924The Able McLaughlins
Herman Wouk1952The Caine Mutiny