Pulitzer Award Winners

The Pulitzer Awards were established by Joseph Pulitzer in 1917 and are currently administered by Columbia University. They honour American achievements in print and online journalism, literature and musical composition. Included in this list are individual winners in any of the award's 23 categories.
NameYearWorkOther Names
Ernest Poole1918His Family
Sara Teasdale1918Love Songs(Filsinger)
Carl Sandburg1919Cornhuskers(Sandberg)
Margaret Widdemer1919The Old Road to Paradise
Edith Wharton1921The Age of Innocence
Booth Tarkington1922Alice Adams
Willa Cather1923One of Ours
Edna St. Vincent Millay1923The Ballad of the Harp-Weaver(Boyd)
Margaret Wilson1924The Able McLaughlins
Edna Ferber1925So Big
Sinclair Lewis1926Arrowsmith
Amy Lowell1926What's O'Clock
Louis Bromfield1927Early Autumn
Thornton Wilder1928The Bridge of San Luis Rey
Julia Peterkin1929Scarlet Sister Mary
Conrad Aiken1930Selected Poems
Oliver La Farge1930Laughing Boy
Margaret Ayer Barnes1931Years of Grace
Susan Glaspell1931Alison's House
Pearl S. Buck1932The Good Earth
George Dillon1932The Flowering Stone
T. S. Stribling1933The Store
Caroline Miller1934Lamb in His Bosom
Zoe Akins1935The Old Maid
Josephine Johnson1935Now in November
Harold L. Davis1936Honey in the Horn
Margaret Mitchell1937Gone with the Wind
John Phillips Marquand1938The Late George Apley
Thornton Wilder1938Our Town
Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings1939The Yearling
Carl Sandburg1940Abraham Lincoln: The War Years(Sandberg)
John Steinbeck1940The Grapes of Wrath
Ellen Glasgow1942In This Our Life
Upton Sinclair1943Dragon's Teeth
Thornton Wilder1943The Skin of Our Teeth
Martin Flavin1944Journey in the Dark
John Hersey1945A Bell for Adano
Robert Penn Warren1947All the King's Men
James A. Michener1948Tales of the South Pacific
Tennessee Williams1948A Streetcar Named Desire
James Gould Cozzens1949Guard of Honor
Arthur Miller1949Death of a Salesman
A. B. Guthrie Jr.1950The Way West
Marianne Moore1951Collected Poems
Conrad Richter1951The Town
Carl Sandburg1951Complete Poems(Sandberg)
Herman Wouk1952The Caine Mutiny
Ernest Hemingway1953The Old Man and the Sea
William Faulkner1954A Fable
Theodore Roethke1954The Waking
Wallace Stevens1955Collected Poems
Tennessee Williams1955Cat on A Hot Tin Roof
MacKinlay Kantor1956Andersonville
Richard Wilbur1957Things of This World
James Agee1958A Death in the Family
Robert Lewis Taylor1959The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters
Allen Drury1960Advise and Consent
Harper Lee1961To Kill a Mockingbird
Phyllis McGinley1961Times Three: Selected Verse From Three Decades
Edwin O'Connor1962The Edge of Sadness
William Faulkner1963The Reivers
Shirley Ann Grau1965The Keepers of the House
Katherine Anne Porter1966The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter
Bernard Malamud1967The Fixer
Anne Sexton1967Live or Die(Harvey)
William Styron1968The Confessions of Nat Turner
N. Scott Momaday1969House Made of Dawn
Jean Stafford1970The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford
Wallace Stegner1972Angle of Repose
Eudora Welty1973The Optimist's Daughter
Michael Shaara1975The Killer Angels
Saul Bellow1976Humboldt's Gift
James Alan McPherson1978Elbow Room
John Cheever1979The Stories of John Cheever
Sam Shepard1979Buried Child
Norman Mailer1980The Executioner's Song
John Kennedy Toole1981A Confederacy of Dunces
John Updike1982Rabbit Is Rich
Alice Walker1983The Color Purple
William Kennedy1984Ironweed
Mary Oliver1984American Primitive
Alison Lurie1985Foreign Affairs
Elizabeth Frank1986Louise Bogan: A Portrait
Larry McMurtry1986Lonesome Dove
Peter Taylor1987A Summons to Memphis
Toni Morrison1988Beloved(Wofford)
Anne Tyler1989Breathing Lessons
Richard Wilbur1989New and Collected Poems
Oscar Hijuelos1990The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love
John Updike1991Rabbit at Rest
Jane Smiley1992A Thousand Acres
Robert Olen Butler1993A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain
E. Annie Proulx1994The Shipping News
Carol Shields1995The Stone Diaries
Richard Ford1996Independence Day
Steven Millhauser1997Martin Dressler
Philip Roth1998American Pastoral
Michael Cunningham1999The Hours
Jhumpa Lahiri2000Interpreter of Maladies
Michael Chabon2001The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
Richard Russo2002Empire Falls
Jeffrey Eugenides2003Middlesex
Edward P. Jones2004The Known World
Marilynne Robinson2005Gilead(Summers)
Geraldine Brooks2006March
Cormac McCarthy2007The Road
Junot Díaz2008The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Elizabeth Strout2009Olive Kitteridge
Paul Harding2010Tinkers
Jennifer Egan2011A Visit From the Goon Squad
Colson Whitehead2017The Underground Railroad
Richard Powers2019The Overstory
Colson Whitehead2020The Nickel Boys
Louise Erdrich2021The Night Watchman
Barbara Kingsolver2023Demon Copperhead