Tony Award Winners

The Tony Awards have been given out annually since 1947 in recognition of excellence in live Broadway theatre. They are named after Antoinette Perry, founder of the American Theatre Wing, the presenters of the awards.

Included in the list are the winners in the Best Director, Leading Actor and Leading Actress categories.

NameYearCategoryPlayOther Names
Helen Hayes1947actress
John Gielgud1948actorThe Importance of Being Earnest
Audrey Hepburn1954actressOndine
John Gielgud1959actorAges of Man
John Gielgud1961directorBig Fish, Little Fish
Mike Nichols1964directorBarefoot in the Park(Peschkowsky)
Rita Moreno1975actressThe Ritz
Winston Ntshona1975actorSizwe Banzi is Dead
Scott Rudin1994director
Mel Brooks2001directorThe Producers(Kaminsky)
Whoopi Goldberg2002actressThoroughly Modern Millie(Johnson)
Idina Menzel2004actressWicked